Response from Kari Bales to my Open Letter

Open Letter to wife of BalesI very briefly wanted to let you all know that I’ve received word from two sources (who request not to be identified) that Kari Bales has not only read my letter, but that she is reading your comments as well. It was not my intent when I wrote the letter, but it has become a bulletin board of support. For Kari. She can come back and look whenever she is alone. Whenever their quarters are quiet and it’s just her and her children. And I hope she will. Because I know firsthand how loud the silence can be. Here are the messages I received in response:

“She read and appreciates your letter as well as the support she’s getting from the comments.  To see the outpouring of love has made a difference to her.”

and

“She read the blog and all the replies and they made her cry.  Not in a bad way, she’s just so grateful to you all … She really doesn’t know what will happen next; she is safe on base, but she doesn’t know when and if she’ll see Bob, or what will happen with regard to anything.  To that end she’s just going to keep her nose to the grindstone and concentrate on the kids.”

Others can continue to post their support HERE.

The overwhelmingly positive response has blown me away. And yes, I’ve been posting every single comment. I’m a lawyer and I took an oath to uphold our Constitution, just like each of our servicemembers. I believe in Freedom of Speech. As I write this there are 144 comments, and only a few are negative. Basically, only four out of 8000 visitors had something bad to say. Even lawyers like myself can understand that kind of math.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Thomas
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:49:35

    Let those with out sin cast the first stone,from a safe place,nothing can put you in the shoes this man had to walk in,take his place now that he has been broken.

    Reply

  2. Shandra
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 15:04:17

    Can not even imagine… Keep your head up Kari and your heart Open. xox Shandra

    Reply

  3. Wanda Lynn Reed Wood
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 00:35:35

    I have commented here before, but wanted to add also; that my husband and I have a son serving in the Army; in Afghanistan. Words cannot say how proud we are of him!! And, all our soldiers!!! My husband has suffered from PTSD since Viet Nam. He left a young, head held high, goal oriented, intelligent, proud young man. Thank God he came home; but NEVER to be that all together young man I knew before he experienced war! People! Let God judge, not you! God Bless you Kari. We will pray for you, your husband and your family!

    Reply

  4. MilitaryMomof2
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 09:10:18

    I would like to just commend Kari for being the strong woman that she is during this time and know that her and her family are in my prayers. It is difficult being a military wife, as I sit here writing this, I have reflected on the years I have and where I am today. Life gives us such journeys and to grow positive from even the darkest moments is such strength. As Kari and her family approach these new challenges, I hope she and her children will know that as difficult as it is, there are many who support her. I have friends who have worked with her husband and no one can say anything bad about him. I hope she knows that there are so many of us here supporting her and her family. I hope her husband will have a good outcome out of all this and know that we are praying for the stenght they need at this time.

    Reply

  5. Willma W
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 20:49:31

    The government will take forever and a day to prosecute/discharge, so she has a significant amount of time remaining in housing, base privileges, pay and allowances, etc.

    Reply

  6. Michael Beauchemin
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 17:20:22

    Kari, I shall pray for you and the entire family as you undergo this incredible ordeal. My thoughts and prayers are always with our brave service men and women defending our freedom and way of life. Likewise spouses and children of our service members are really “HEROES” and deserve our support and love. I echo all of the positive comments which have been directed toward you here. Keep you chin up, may you be brave, and may you all be loved and supported by all those who truly care about you. I pray for Robert as well and hope that in time “closure” will occur for all of you.

    Reply

  7. Bennette
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 15:59:43

    I’m not in the military nor do I have a spouse in the military. I have been blessed by being a US Citizian. I want to let you know that I’m so sorry for what you are going threw. I’m sorry to see and hear the effect this long war is having on your family. I really don’t know what else to say. My heart goes out to you…

    Reply

  8. Elaine
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 11:17:20

    Kari,
    I spent six years at Joint Base Lewis-McChord, so this incident with you and your family has touched my heart, making it personal in some way. I’m an active duty soldier, wife, and mother. I can only imagine what you are going through. Just know that I am praying for you, SSG Bales, your family, as well as the victims and their families. May God bless you all.

    Elaine

    Reply

  9. Happyfeet
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 15:48:08

    If only everyone could stop, and remember that the news is not entertainment. It’s about real people. Thank you for reminding us to put ourselves in others’ shoes and show some compassion, Regardless of how one may feel about war or the military. This is a tragedy from every angle.
    Healing and peace

    Reply

  10. Rae
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 09:06:19

    Praying for you and your family Kari. I can’t even imagine what you are going through. My husband is getting ready for deployment and one of my biggest fears is what effect the war is going to have on him.

    You are in my thoughts constantly and are one brave, strong woman. God Bless You.

    Reply

  11. Ann Marie (@Household6Diva)
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 08:57:31

    Bravo my friend! Your post yesterday spoke the thoughts in many of our hearts. I hope and pray for the safety and welfare of this military family – especially with all the excessive media speculation…. Kari – Know that you are loved and supported by your extended military family. Just keep putting one foot in front of the other.

    Reply

Come on ... I know you wanna say something. Go for it.

VOTY Reader