Goodbye, Rookie Style

Husband left the US of A today. This precipitated a series of major errors in judgment on my part. And not in a tastefully accented by italics kind of way, either.  It was bolded, underlined, italicized, printed in all caps and followed by multiple annoying exclamation points for “emphasis.”

As it turns out, I am a real lightweight after all these years of being a military family member.

Do not try this at home. Rookie Milspouse Mistakes 1-8:

  • Hearing the phone ring, stepping out of the shower soaking wet, and stubbing my previously broken toe in an effort to find the absentee cordless phone, which is off its dock and undoubtedly now resides in the same location as the safely hidden will, aka The Document Never to be Seen Again.
  • Cussing because I may have re-broken my toe, and doing so in front of my small children, particularly the one that has a fascination with dirty words that he can share with all the little children in his Christian daycare.
  • Waiting to find a towel until after I found the missing phone. 
  • Realizing, after stubbing my toe and still being wet and naked that (1) I was not going to find the phone; (2) it was Husband’s voice broadcasting through the answering machine; and (3) He would be leaving the country today while I was at work. 
  • Panicking and deciding to make a run for the downstairs phone while I was (1) still upstairs; (2) nearly 40; and (3) still naked. Not pretty (tastefully italicized). 
  • Making it to the downstairs phone just in time to hear Husband say “Well, I guess you guys aren’t there, so let me just say …” and then cussing in front of my children a second time upon noticing that the downstairs phone was also missing from it’s dock. 
  • Frantically pushing random buttons on the wall mount in an effort to find the speakerphone button, which resulted in deletion of all saved messages, including the one I was saving in case Husband … 
  • Hearing dial tone and cussing. In front of children. Again. Naked.

Don’t worry, that whole escapade ends with a successful Skype at the breakfast table – one in which I was fully clothed. I’m guessing this was a real plus for all of the Taliban spies that were probably mining the video feed for valuable OPSEC violations.

It was surreal. Husband sat there in his uniform chatting away and being silly with us from an outside picnic table. In the background we could see the bags being piled up and hoisted into trucks which were bound for the military air transport. I tried not to look past his face at the flurry of activity going on in the background. It reminded me too much of that feeling I had at the in-person goodbye, when we were sitting on the living room floor with his luggage piled up by the front door, waiting for the taxi to arrive.

Eventually, it was time to say goodbye to him – again – and this time it was on a computer screen.

Rookie Milspouse Mistake #9:

  • Last visual impression I left with Husband was the bobbing and weaving of a crazy woman attempting to look him in the eye via Skype. Imagine strutting chicken meets Max Headroom.

If you haven’t said goodbye to a loved one via internet feed, let me advise you to prepare yourself. There’s obviously no hug, and no kiss, so you think you’re prepared for that weirdness. But there’s no way to get any real eye contact, either. I could look at the camera lens OR his eyes, but not both. Somewhere in middle made me feel like I was looking at that guy in yoga class with the wandering eye, and I was DeNiro. “You talkin’ to me?”

Rookie Milspouse Mistake #10:

  • Husband said “I love you,” and in response I completely choked. Not like blubbery tearful can’t understand a word choked, or coughing to cover a well of emotion and eventually spitting it out choked. Nope. It was complete absolute muteness-choke. Crickets.

I went from eye-dodging weirdo to dumb-mute instantaneously. Turns out it’s super hard to read a pixellated face, so when the goodbye comes, it levels you. Wipes you clean out. You miss the socially accepted foreshadowing of hints leading up to the emotional catharsis. You are relying on a false ability to interpret emotional cues that are obscured by the etherworld and distorted by grainy resolution. I found myself attempting bravery without warning, and it was an epic fail. I was suddenly (and not too convincingly) clamping down every muscle in my body to avoid tears. I was doing it so hard that there was no room to open my throat for anything, not even the words I wanted desperately to say. Total dream scream.

And all because I thought I heard a tiny hint of a miniscule little crack in his voice. He was in a uniform, so that meant he was in man mode. But I swore I heard something in that space. In that infinitesimal glottal stop I heard him saying:

"I love you."

“If I don’t come back, it will be OK. You will be OK. But I will be back. I promise to do everything I can to come back. Always remember: I love you. No matter what.”

And then I responded with silence. I literally even opened my mouth, but there was nothing to give. He was a gentleman – he waited. He gave me a one potato, two potato … before rescuing me:

 “Give the kids a hug and a kiss for me! Goodbye!”

And then, he was gone.

Maybe he thought it was an internet blip. Maybe it didn’t look as ridiculous or obvious as it felt. Later, sitting at my desk, I got one last text message. I breathed a sigh of relief at the opportunity to correct my mistake and frantically sent him a message about being sorry I couldn’t say the words earlier, and letting him know how proud we were. But there was never any response. I imagined that he got the message, right before turning the phone off for a very long time.

Late in the day I got one more text from a fuel stopover: I assumed you loved me … I am after all, very lovable.

And that was really, finally it. That was the perfect ending to a second goodbye, no matter how hard I had tried to screw it up. It was time to make momma some pie.

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anne
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 03:42:36

    This was so sweet. It just brings tears to my eyes.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Call in the Professionals « www.wittylittlesecret.com |
  3. Trackback: Call in the Professionals « www.wittylittlesecret.com
  4. Trackback: Filtered Sunshine « www.wittylittlesecret.com
  5. Trackback: Hitting the Wall « Witty Little Secret
  6. Trackback: At The White Table « Witty Little Secret
  7. Goodnight moon
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 01:30:22

    First of all…..sending hugs…lots of them…and a bandaid for your toe! I know I’ve done all of these too! I wish we could fast forward the time for you to make it go by quicker, especially the first month…doens’t it just drag on and on? I’m sorry girlie!!!!!!

    I found you through the milspouse weekly roundup! Look forward to reading more!

    Reply

  8. Kat
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 22:56:51

    I remember greeting my dad a time or two, too, and fighting with my mom over who got to hug him first. She won. You will, too. Hugs.

    Reply

    • wittylittlesecret
      Oct 16, 2010 @ 23:12:48

      Guaranteed, because I can totally outrun O. On the other hand, The Preschooler … now he might give me a run for my money. No matter, we will knock Husband over in the process, regardless of who wins!

      Reply

  9. Kerin
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 08:42:25

    Saw the link to your blog on my uncle john’s facebook, and was unexpectedly reduced to tears in minutes. thanks. really. my husband and i both grew up with military dads, and we often remark on all the things we miss about that lifestyle…military bases, commissaries, the pride of knowing our dads would be willing to die for something they believed in and fought hard for, the travel (sometimes), and much more. But there is rarely a day that goes by that I’m not extremely grateful that I don’t have to say goodbye to my husband. I admire you and your husband for doing this. May God bless you immensely for your sacrifice, and allow your children to also know that blessing.

    Reply

    • wittylittlesecret
      Oct 16, 2010 @ 12:27:12

      Thanks for reading, Kerin! We have been through this before, but never for a year, and never with kids. We are definitely on a new adventure. Your uncle and my husband worked together for many years, and I know he has heard lots of fun stories. I’m hoping to share some of those here. Sorry you were reduced to tears. Don’t the homecoming videos you see just make you cry every time!? Even now? I’ve been thinking about doing a post related to the kids, since I also was a brat and am identifying with them greatly. I’m finding that humor is the best medicine right now, even if I’m faking it just a little. 🙂

      Reply

  10. mindi
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 06:05:24

    Awww – I remember all too well saying goodbye. As he said, he knows you love him 🙂 I don’t want to say goodbye to my hubby again next year . . .

    Reply

    • wittylittlesecret
      Oct 16, 2010 @ 12:29:22

      It’s quite a cycle, isn’t it Mindi? I’m glad you stopped by to read and comment. My site statistics tell me how many visitors I’m getting, but it’s not until people leave messages that I can really see who is reading. And I love it when other milspouses identify with what I’m writing. It makes me feel like I’m not that crazy, afterall!

      Reply

  11. Lindsey
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 20:58:19

    You’ve got me crying again. I can’t even imagine the emotions that come with this journey that you are on. Just remember that we are here for you and praying for you!

    Reply

  12. niccolew
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 14:33:12

    Shoot. It’s the middle of the day and you’ve got me crying.

    Reply

  13. Wifey
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 11:58:16

    I’m going to start following you on my RSS feed! Go Navy!

    Reply

    • wittylittlesecret
      Oct 15, 2010 @ 18:08:16

      Awesome, our pages match so we can be Navy blogging twins. You obviously have good taste. 🙂 I added a link to your main feed on my milspouse roundup. See you on the interwebs!

      Reply

  14. DogBoy
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 07:43:37

    Ok, so the very best part of Randy leaving (besides him not having to smell you) is getting to read you hanging it all out there. Truly moving, gripping, entertaining and well worth the time/read.

    Reply

  15. JuliAnne Forrest
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 01:21:57

    We’re all here with you Lori, hugging, praying and laughing with your family. As you said, yes, this sucks, but the days will go by and before you know it, you will be back in his arms and I bet the first thing that comes out of your mouth with be a very emaphatic – I LOVE YOU!!!! : ) So many blessings to all of you.

    Reply

    • wittylittlesecret
      Oct 15, 2010 @ 18:12:39

      I always get emotional watching homecoming videos. I remember doing that as a kid, running out on the tarmac to greet my dad as he came off the airplane from a 6 month deployment. You can bet I’ll be channeling my inner six year-old the day he comes home!

      Reply

Come on ... I know you wanna say something. Go for it.

VOTY Reader