The Preschooler Remembers Veterans Day

Dear Daddy,

Yesterday was Veterans Day. We slept in, and watched TV and snuggled with Mommy. That was fun. And then we had a family meeting. I hate family meetings. They are boring.

Mom told us about Veterans Day. I laid on the floor and did backbends. We talked about all the people we knew who were Veterans. I knew everything. We talked about Papa, and Big Daddy Sean, and Lammy. Mom asked us what we wanted to do so that we could honor and remember Veterans. Sissy asked if we could make our own White Table, just like they did at school. This was a much better idea than having a family meeting, so I jumped up and shouted, “Praise The Lord!”

First, we looked for everything we needed.

We were missing some things.

So Sissy made us a rose out of tissue paper and some green ribbon.

tissue paper flower

And I drew a card that said “Thank You.”

child writing

I drew a totally sweet picture of a soldier shooting an alien, too.

He had snakes for hair and was screaming in  pain.

alien art

But we didn’t put that on the table.

But I’m mailing it to you, Daddy.

 And then we put salt on the plate and we wrote “Hero” in it,

just like the book.

Americas White Table

That part was really cool but Sissy got to do it.

But I didn’t step on her foot or kick her, or do anything.

And then we put everything together,

and we all stood by the front door and we looked at our table.

americas white table

And you know what? We decided that we are going to leave it up

past Thanksgiving

by the front door,

until we decorate our house for Christmas.

But we’re not going to leave the candle burning.

Mom said you would have a heart attack, Daddy.

So we only lit it for the picture.

strangle hug

We didn’t have you to here to hug, so we all hugged each other.

And I even hugged Sissy.

sibling rivalry

I might have hugged her just a leeeeeetle too tight.

On the neck and stuff.

Just, you know, totally by accident.

I love you, Daddy!

And I miss you.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bill
    Nov 08, 2013 @ 13:11:26

    I’m a veteran (of Vietnam) and this definitely touched my heart. Thanks for posting it, Lori.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: This Veterans Day, Honor Our Homecoming Heroes With Modest Needs Next Generation Military Spouses NextGen MilSpouse
  3. Lori Volkman @ Witty Little Secret
    Sep 21, 2012 @ 15:37:18

    Update … after two years I’ve finally added Facebook and Twitter buttons to this post, so please feel free to share and tweet away!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Memorial Day is Different This Year « Witty Little Secret
  5. Gaily
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 13:49:06

    Amazing post. Now crying…. again. But, Thank You!
    God Bless. Thanks to You and Your Family for “your” service.

    Reply

  6. Kimberly Sarantakes
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 10:06:29

    There should be a “like” button here like the one on facebook.

    Reply

  7. DogBoy
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 09:12:16

    Best one yet.

    Reply

  8. Gina Mortenson
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 07:53:27

    I got teary eyed…you are raising some amazing kids…I’m sure your husband is as proud of you as you all are of him!

    Reply

  9. JuliAnne Forrest
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 07:29:22

    Ok this made me cry….. What a great idea Lori and your kids are just too darn cute!

    Reply

  10. Fer
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 07:04:00

    Oh, I love how you capture his voice. It’s wonderful how deeply your children understand their father’s–and other veterans’–experience. You’re amazing!

    Reply

Come on ... I know you wanna say something. Go for it.

VOTY Reader