CNN Video of “Open Letter to Kari Bales”

To go directly to my “Open Letter to Kari Bales” click here.

Late Sunday night I sat bleary-eyed at my computer trying to find a way to write what was on my heart. I knew I couldn’t write from the perspective of Kari Bales; there were too many unknowns. That story would be a work of fiction, and there was already enough fiction circulating. I breathed deeply, closed my eyes, and I imagined: papers, official visitors, tears, frantic calls … the administrative details alone seemed overwhelming. But once an image of Kari Bales’ children crossed my mind’s threshold, I began to cry. As a mother, I began to weep for that instant where she realized she was the one standing between them and this moment.

Many of you cried, too.

The words that made their way from my fingertips to the screen brought unexpected media coverage, and because of that my words eventually found their way into her heart. For that, I am so grateful. What every writer wants is for their words to make a difference.

Thanks to Carol Costello and the producers at CNN for chosing to highlight this issue so positively. Here’s the interview.

CNN Kari Bales

how to find media clips

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kings And Queens - Superior Hair Care
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 11:17:28

    Your writing style is phenomenal I am facinated by your create style and your tremendous growth your example is clear and very much appreciated.

    Reply

  2. Sally Cole
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 20:06:53

    Kari, God Bless you and your family. My heart aches for all of you. This type of thing has happened in every war since wars began. Who are we to judge? Thank you Sargent Bales for the freedom we cherish today.

    Reply

  3. barefoot_med_student
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 11:42:33

    Dude! You’re famous!
    And for good, too. Well done.

    Reply

  4. rogueriversue
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 13:20:41

    My heart goes to all military spouses for their sacrifices. My husband was a Marine and my son also, and he was deployed in Desert Storm. I understand a lot of what the spouses are going through. Lori, good job!

    Reply

  5. scrivener212
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 10:02:10

    Just another non-military wife who sends you and your sisters all respect for standing up for Kari Bales. She has a tough row to hoe, and she needs all the friends she can get. She’s lucky she has all of you.

    Reply

  6. scrivener212
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 09:58:39

    I am not a military wife, either, only the daughter of a Korean vet, the niece of a WWII vet, and the relative and friend of Vietnam vets, Gulf vets, Iraq vets, and Afghanistan vets. There’s no way we can live what our vets do, but we owe it to each other to give them and one another support.

    Given that you are a public person with something to lose if haters decide to go after Bates’ family (it’s been known to happen), my hat’s off to you for having the guts to go public with your support, and to your fellow military wives, in case the Powers that Be just try to sweep all of this under the rug. Nobody who isn’t living your life can know just how rough it can be, but for what it’s worth, I think you women have your own bravery, and I send all good wishes your way.

    Reply

  7. jan
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 09:46:08

    i am not military, but when i read of this tragedy my first thought was to pray for sgt bales family. the anguish of what this family has gone through with mulitple deployments, and now the charges facing their husband/father is more than someone should have to deal with. i respect this family for their continue sacrifice, and the tole these unnecessary wars have take on their family.

    Reply

  8. Rebecca Corbin
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 07:12:33

    Thank you so much for your support of the Bales family. Holding Kari Bales and her children close in my thoughts and prayers. I can only imagine how comforting your words have been for her. Thank you again, and bless you.

    Reply

  9. Shannon
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 23:24:02

    May I, as an older, ex-Army spouse, extend my most sincere sympathy to Kari Bales and her children. She needs to know that even us older ladies have her back if she needs us.

    Reply

  10. Michelle
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 22:10:23

    Thank you so much for being the kind of person who cares about strangers. I am not a military wife, but still feel immense compassion for Kari Bales. Not having the forum to give her direct support I am happy you are giving me that.
    I can’t even begin to imagine what she is currently going through, or what she has gone through in the past. My heart goes out to her.
    Your interview was amazing, you should be incredibly proud of yourself. In short…thanks for being you.

    Reply

  11. Myissher Wilson
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 13:13:31

    That was awesome. You looked fabulous. That interview seemed effortless for you a true natural on and off the camera. Proud of you FRIEND!!!

    Reply

    • Lori Volkman @ Witty Little Secret
      Mar 23, 2012 @ 14:44:56

      It wasn’t effortless; it was quite intimidating at first. But once I realized it wasn’t about me … it was about this military community and recognizing the sacrifice of the oft-overlooked military spouse, I felt more natural. NBC Nightly News will air a much longer story about it tonight. Hope you can tune in.

      Reply

Come on ... I know you wanna say something. Go for it.

VOTY Reader