Every Little Thing Is Gonna Be Alright

green grassSomeone asked me recently to describe the most challenging aspect of deployment from the perspective of the military family. I was on the phone at the time, and I looked out across the jungle that had become my back yard. I decided that “yard work” was probably not an acceptable response.

It took me a moment to identify something specific because the easiest way to get through something is to avoid thinking about it altogether. Deny deny deny. I looked back at the lawn and surmised that this coping mechanism may not work out very well. I made a mental note to examine just how long and lush the blades of jealousy and resentment were growing in my own heart. And I immediately decided to take care of it … later.

Most military families will tell you that events with dates attached to them – holidays, anniversaries, recognitions, and milestones – are the hardest. I often discount the importance of a particular day because Husband’s civilian job as a UPS pilot takes him away from home often and we just wait to celebrate until he gets home. But as the events cumulate and stack up against him, I can feel his guilt mounting and the childrens’ resentment building. It’s not fair to Husband, but it happens nonetheless. I seem to be able to deal with it. But the harder it gets for my children, the harder it gets for me. I willingly made the choice to marry a pilot, but they didn’t.

It’s difficult to ask a child to make a sacrifice that is not voluntary.

Case in point, one day after school Sweet Pea stared out the car window. She wasn’t just staring out the window blankly. This was not the wide-eyed wondering look of a child on a road trip without a DVD player, nor the irritated “I’m ignoring you because you’re stupid” mask that she puts on when her brother is attempting to karate-chop her homework folder from his buckled-in car seat. This was the “I’ve just lost my best friend” kind of stare. She was hurting, and she seemed a thousand miles away.

Or maybe something like 7,600 miles away.

I knew by the look in her eyes that we were about to have another conversation about sacrifice, temporary conditions, bravery, family support, patriotism, freedom, and trust in God. These are heavy subjects for a seven year-old who still draws kittens with bows and likes sparkles embedded in her clothing. But she knows them. So of course I avoided those issues completely and went directly to humor, coping mechanism of the stars. It directly follows ridiculous unadulterated denial of the obvious, so it was worth a try.

“Hey, what’s going on? Did you flunk out of second grade today?”
“Huh-uh.”
“No? Accidentally eat a vegetable at lunch?”
“No, Mom.”
 

Hm. Terse. No grin. Nothing. I resorted to some gross body humor. This always works.

 
“Toot in class?”
“Ew.”
“Get caught picking your nose?”
“Mom!”
“Oh, oh. Don’t tell me. I know – you peed your pants in P.E. Must have been totally embarrassing.”
 

Silence. Crickets. Thousand mile stare. My heart dropped. I was out of jokes.

 
“Well?”
“I just don’t want to have my birthday this year. That’s all. It’s not the same.”
 

And there it was. I slowed my car and pulled over, and as I came to a stop and turned around, Sweet Pea wasn’t looking out the window. She was looking directly at me, and she was preparing to head me off at the pass. As the daughter of a lawyer she has learned the value of pre-emptive argument and I could see the wheels turning. She leaned forward in her seat to deliver the blow, but I could see that she was fighting to maintain control. The raw emotions were welling up, forcing wet spots to form in the corners of her precious blue eyes. Her Daddy’s precious blue eyes.

“I don’t care if he will be here next year. It’s not the same. I’ll never be eight again. This is the only time. It’s just not the same without Daddy here.” Her voice finally broke and she wiped a tear, blurting out one last salvo: “It doesn’t even feel like a birthday!”

And she was right. Husband has this way of making everything lighter and happier. He may be an officer in the United States Navy and he may wear a uniform and have people salute him at work, but at home he’s a goofy guy with a soft spot for tickle fights and a talent for unique flatulence timing. It’s my job to roll my eyes while the kids giggle and blame me while fake-fanning my rear end.

So I just agreed with her. I told her it wasn’t the same. Inside it hurt that I couldn’t make it all better, but I realized there was value in learning that sometimes you can’t fix things. I realized that learning how to feel and move on was crucial to growth. So I told her it was OK to feel bad and that I appreciated how angry she was about it. I told her that nobody expected her to pretend everything was just fine when it wasn’t. And I told her I felt the same way sometimes. She attempted to level me with a final sucker-punch to the gut:

“But you don’t know, Mom! You don’t know what it’s like not having your daddy home for your birthday!”

And I smiled. Because I did know. I remembered my own eighth birthday in Jacksonville, Florida when my dad was deployed on the USS America and I put my knee into a red ant hill. I remembered that birthday.

“Honey, my daddy was in the Navy too, remember? And Papa missed lots of holidays when I was a little girl. In fact, he even missed my eighth birthday. So I do know. I know exactly what it feels like.”

It stunned her into silence and we just stared at each other for a moment. Uncomfortable, I turned around, put the car back in gear, and started moving the car forward. I was unsatisfied with what felt like emotional one-upmanship.

But then I remembered something that saved us so many times before. Husband sings a song … “Don’t worry, about a thing. ‘Cause every little thing is gonna be alright.” And he sings it, and sings it, and sings it again, until the grumpy moping child relents and sings along. And it works. It actually works.

So I did it. I started singing. I sang quietly at first, almost to myself, and I watched the kids in the mirror. They were watching quietly, suspiciously, but not joining in. I could feel my heart rising as I anticipated the eventual response and I continued undaunted with a smirk on my face. I opened the windows a crack, even though it was drizzling outside, so the wind could blow through our hair. Each stanza was progressively louder and more annoying and the setting sun blasted through the trees, their shadows beating out a strobe-like effect on our faces as we picked up speed. By the time we hit the freeway I was bobbing back and forth beating the steering wheel for rhythm, singing like a midnight karaoke idiot. Both kids (and the occupants of several other cars) were staring at me now in disbelief but I continued, undeterred by their looks of horror. I shouted, “altogether now!” between stanzas, and The Preschooler timidly joined in. I barked out my command to sing along “louder!” if they wanted me to stop, and Sweet Pea finally participated in protest. We sang it again and again until I saw her eye rolls transition into a smile. And within minutes we were screaming down the highway with the windows all the way down in the rain, both kids’ flailing and bouncing in the back seat, raising their chins and happily declaring “every little thing is gonna be alright!”

We laughed. And as we sang I captured their faces in my memory. I had an overwhelming feeling that we really were going to make it. I had learned a lesson once before – that there was value in saying things out loud – and it was serving me well to remember it now. I believed it. We all believed it.

The next day we did our best to make Sweet Pea’s birthday a special event. But I wasn’t completely sure how she felt about it until I saw the words that she wrote out as we were making a welcome home message for her Daddy on the sliding glass doors later that night:

glass markers“Dear Dad, I missed you very very much. I’m glad your home with us. I cryed much times when you where gone. I was trying to be as strong as I could … I am very very proud of you for protecting our country. I’m soooooooo glad your home! We will have so much fun together. I love you a lot Daddy. I’m sad you missed my birthday butt you had to do your good Navy stuff … I could never say how proud I am of you. The hole family missed you butt we where brave because we trust in God to protect and provied for you and your Navy friends!”

I looked through her words on the glass doors back out onto the lawn in my dark back yard. I realized it was time to act on my mental note to take an honest inventory of my own bad feelings about this deployment and see just how long the weeds there had become. I’m a little ashamed to say that I didn’t really like what I found there.

I found resentment, jealousy, and a sense of abandonment. I found anger for being the one left behind to deal with the bills and the doctors appointments and the boo-boos and the mortgage, and the laundry and the floors and the toilets. And then I found guilt for feeling that way. I found exhaustion. I found the loneliness of living without him that I often ignored. On holidays. On weekdays. On weekends. In the mornings. And late at night.

But I looked back at the words written by my little girl, and it struck me. I realized all of these things were okay. I thought of my own sage advice to admit defeat and look your feelings in the face. And I realized I didn’t have to laugh my way out of them. I didn’t have to deny they existed. And I didn’t have to feel like I was the only one.

I stepped out onto the deck where the kids couldn’t see me, and I stared out into the darkness for a moment. This year would be over soon. This feeling would be a memory. I closed my eyes, and I sang softly under my breath, imagining it was him standing behind me, whispering in my ear: “Don’t worry … about a thing. ‘Cause every little thing is gonna be alright.”

And it was gonna be alright. It wasn’t perfect, but it didn’t have to be. It was real, and it wasn’t going to be there forever, and there would be time for it to heal. So I didn’t have to worry. Not any more.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Here Come the Professionals « www.wittylittlesecret.com
  2. Trackback: Tickling Will Stunt Your Growth « Witty Little Secret
  3. known to have a naughty mind
    May 29, 2011 @ 15:36:59

    I’m a bit late I know as I only discovered your blog 2 days ago, but please tell Sweet Pea “Happy Birthday from Avril (that’s me) and Keily (my 10 year old niece).

    Reply

  4. Mrs. O
    May 28, 2011 @ 20:30:11

    You are very inspiring.

    Have you cut the grass?

    When mine was deployed the last time (this was his 9th deployment) I cut the grass every third day. I think just looking at the nice, freshly cut lawn made everything look like was normal. Even if it wasn’t normal, it seemed normal, because he cuts the grass every three days.

    Its weird how we all deal with the not exactly the same emotions – but very similiar emotions in different ways.

    I cut the grass. You sing. And in the end – it all works. At least for that brief moment until the sink gets clogged and the toliet is backed up and the kids are fighting. *sigh*

    Reply

  5. Becky Elfert
    May 11, 2011 @ 08:18:03

    Thank you for the tears in my coffee this morning as we are 3 days away from yet another deployment. This is the first one that my 5 year old is dealing with emotionally. He loves his daddy very much and I know it’s going to be hard on him. I hope I can be strong him.

    Reply

  6. Maria (Personalized Sketches)
    May 11, 2011 @ 08:06:37

    I agree with Beka…even before I read her comment…as I was reading this post, I thought again what an amazing writer you are… If you had any books published, I would love to read any of your books, fact or fiction, if they read like your posts read.

    Blessings & Aloha!

    Reply

  7. Julie
    May 10, 2011 @ 09:03:44

    I hit another wall last week and was forced to look my feelings in the face. It wasn’t pretty but I felt a bit better afterwards and you are right – every little thing is going to be alright! I keep reminding myself – this is a finite challenge!

    Reply

  8. Beka
    May 09, 2011 @ 20:15:37

    p.s. you’re inspiring.
    and i forgot to say, this post made me cry.

    Reply

  9. Beka
    May 09, 2011 @ 20:14:56

    Wow. I loved this. A lot. This….reminded me of a chapter in a book. I would read it, if you have any plans/dreams for one in the future. 😉

    Reply

  10. DogBoy
    May 09, 2011 @ 17:53:01

    Extra points for using Bob Marley to make a point. I too have used this very song to carry my family through tough times…and looking back…everything was all right, it all worked out and we were ok…alright. This will soon be a memory and a character building experience…we will laugh and we will cry and we will toast your family. I can not wait to meet RV to thank him and to tell him what a lucky mf’r he is!
    PS The song is called “three little birds”, but I have always changed the words to “three little DOGS”….

    Reply

  11. Erika @ chambanachik
    May 09, 2011 @ 17:50:48

    How breathtakingly, achingly sweet. I loved this.

    Reply

  12. Pat Spicer
    May 09, 2011 @ 08:53:28

    Thank you Lori for sharing your thoughts and feelings so intimately. I’m proud of you for having the courage to express them and to even dig back into your mind to bring them out. Sometimes that is a very difficult thing to do. There were many times in my life it hurt and was a scary thing to want to feel what my thoughts were. You’re an inspiration. Praying for you and your family…

    Reply

Come on ... I know you wanna say something. Go for it.

VOTY Reader