Marathon Mayhem

Well, I have officially left behind Phase Four of the deployment cycle (anger/violence), and entered Phase Five: If You Can Write it Down, Doitall. I am already a chronic overachiever, so I am assuming this will be a palatable phase.

I am blogging from my phone at the hotel where I just completed mobilization bucket list item number two: complete a Half Marathon. Being an overachiever, I figured I was behind a month, so I tackled two items in one week. I’ll write about both tomorrow. For now, you will note however that I did not say “marathon” and I did not say “race.” In fact, I didn’t even say “run.”

I’ll be home from Texas tomorrow to relive the magic, and regale ya’ll with the gritty details.

In the meantime, know that I finished, I’m not (completely) crippled, and I have great respect for the athletes I know who have completed a real, full-fledged marathon.

And now, with that, I’m going to go hobble over and eat a big ole stick o’ meat.

Because I can.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: My Mini-Vacation « Witty Little Secret
  2. Courtney Emken
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 12:38:53

    I witnessed said half marathon, and it was amazing! So proud of you!!! I am inspired to join you next year, if we can talk you into coming back to the Lone Star State. YeeeeeHaaaawwwwwww!!!!

    Reply

Come on ... I know you wanna say something. Go for it.

VOTY Reader