TGIL

I’ve been a busy little writer this week. Of course, not on my blog. There’s just so much to write and so little time! Since it’s Friday I wanted to share with you some of the things I’ve been working on.

First of all: the hookah. I smoked a hookah and I liked it. Husband has been bugging me to take some time out with him to do this and it just never seems to materialize. Yet this week – on his birthday in fact – we had time. We made time. And it was fabulous. It was more than fabulous. And that story is written and will be posted right here on Monday morning. (See how I tease? It wouldn’t be any fun otherwise …)

Second of all: about today’s title – TGIL. It stands for “Thank God I’m Living.” I had the good fortune of doing a story for my editor at SpouseBUZZ about an amazing Navy Veteran named Brad Snyder and it ended up on Military.com. Interviewing him (via email because he’s already in London) made me so thankful for my life and my body and my health and my family after hearing about his injuries and how inspired he is to push through all those things that were conspiring to stop him from living his life. What I didn’t mention in the story is that Brad has a brand new blog, and I want to link it up for him here: Evidence of the Unseen.

I’m giving you Brad’s story right here, right now. No teasers. This guy is inspiring, and I hope his story sets your Friday moving in the right direction!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: I Sure Hope I Look Good in Orange « www.wittylittlesecret.com
  2. Trackback: Meet the Superhumans - Cry, Beloved Country
  3. rhechristine
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 18:11:11

    I smoked a hookah like almost two years ago for the first time. I had avoided for a long time. I sort of had negative connotations associated with it in my head…from high school I think. But it was so much fun in the group setting I had it in, with my husband as well. It was wonderful. although I’m sure the experience for us boring adult time people is way different then a rowdy bunch of high schoolers, LOL! Yay!!!!

    btw, congrats on the intereview! this has literally been sitting up on my computer in a tab for days so I wouldn’t forget….little good that did. LOL

    miss ya chicky!

    Reply

  4. John Erickson
    Aug 25, 2012 @ 13:09:57

    I have to leave this here, as my Email isn’t currently allowing outgoing notes.
    Neil Armstrong has died from complications following heart surgery earlier this month. I remember watching the landing at age 6, and being instantly hooked on science and space.
    Godspeed, Neil. The constellations have a new star among them.

    Reply

  5. John Erickson
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 09:53:42

    Glad to hear you had some special time with hubby. And I’m delighted to see folks like Brad and Oscar Pistorius get into the public eye. With the unfortunately large influx of vets with lost limbs coming home, we need to encourage people to accept them openly, and without the need of descriptive adjectives like “special” or “paraplegic”.

    Reply

  6. Pilgrim in Progress
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 09:01:48

    I am in awe. . .

    Reply

  7. Al
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 08:35:12

    Great story. Thanks for passing it on, Lori

    Reply

  8. Marsha
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 08:06:10

    I always enjoy your writing. It’s important work, and fun! Thanks.

    Reply

Come on ... I know you wanna say something. Go for it.

VOTY Reader