Ah. Friday.

photo by John Kostner, North County Times

July is about to slip away, which is amazing to me. Since Husband left I’ve spent plenty of time thinking about him. In fact I’ve been throwing myself into projects to avoid thinking of him so much. And that’s why I want to talk to you about what my friend, Angie McCrary is doing.

For the past five years she and 100 other military spouses, moms of service members, and veterans have been volunteering and working  for the Semper Fi Fund. It’s a nonprofit that gives financial assistance to injured Marines and Sailors.  Well they just passed the $50 million mark in assistance given out to injured and ill service members and their families. Fifty million.

These folks should be raising money for the elimination of the national debt. It’s staggering to think this all started less than ten years ago with a group of friends sitting around a kitchen table and a $500 contribution from founder, Karen Guenther.

So guys? Start something. It’s worth it. You never know what will happen. Come by my “milspouse” page and see what you can do for your nation’s heroes. Have a fabulous weekend everyone!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Big Al
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 10:55:14

    What a heartening story. Military spouses are the best.

    A few times a month I drive a van with disabled vets the 70 miles to the Richmond VA hospital for their appointments. I have met and talked to so many heroes I can’t count. The personal reward from this is also incalculable.

    Give your friend Angie and her group a big salute!

    Reply

Come on ... I know you wanna say something. Go for it.

VOTY Reader