Road to Recovery

I apologize for my extended absence. I’ve been out with the world’s worst cold, an illness that rivalled the great flu debacle of 2009, wherein I (also) took three days off work and Husband was (also) on a trip. Last time I was huddled into a ball shaking and freezing and sweating whilst my children used sharp knives without my knowledge, made soup out of ketchup and hot water, and jumped on me to show me their exciting new artwork, constructed entirely of magnetized screws from the toolbox. This time there was substantially less cutting and screaming thanks to MOM, and everyone lived through the ordeal.

I can see from my stats just how many of you have returned to see what’s been posted at Witty Little Secret over the past week even though I’ve posted nothing, and I absolutely love you for it.

Speaking of stats … for my regular readers who are not WordPress junkies, last Friday I was “Freshly Pressed.”  That means my blog was featured on the WordPress login page, so every blogger entering that portal saw Witty Little Secret, front and center. I was also featured last October, and frankly being Freshly Pressed twice feels like being struck by lightning. You know, in a good way. Over ten thousand people came to visit here in four short days. And more importantly, the Memorial Day post garnered over 100 comments.

The really good news is the obvious maturity that I’ve gained since October 2010. Because the LAST time I was Freshly Pressed my statistics horrified me and this time, savvy presser that I am, I was ready for my fall from grace. The first time around they spiked uncontrollably and sent me soaring into the stratosphere, left unaware that they would only plummet like the flash in the pan that I was within 24 short hours. As you may recall, my stats page actually flipped me the bird.

Admittedly, I was no less obsessive about checking my “Freshly Pressed” statistics (yes, sometimes hourly). But this time, to my surprise, my stats were much friendlier. Instead of declining dramatically, they increased steadily as Memorial Day approached. And best of all, instead of the obscene gesture of harsh reality, well, my stats let me down gently. I’m considering it a second time around “high-five.”

 So, I’m back dear blogworld. Not with flying colors … but I’m back. Thanks for hanging in there with me, in sickness and in health. I’ll have a post up in the next day or so.

Mwah!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DogBoy
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 16:00:04

    I was growing tired of no post. I must be entertained!

    Reply

  2. known to have a naughty mind
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 13:53:53

    Glad you’re back. Looking forward to the next post🙂

    Reply

  3. Athena
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 12:11:45

    So sorry that you were sick😦
    Hope you are feeling better.

    Reply

  4. Al
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 08:26:01

    Welcome back. Enjoyed your blog in spite of the obscene gesture (or maybe because of it). Hope you heal well so you can keep ’em coming.

    Reply

  5. Sarah Roberts
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 07:47:19

    Totally a high five!!! Love it – and the blog! It’s so real – even the part about being sick and ketchup soup! Feel better!

    Reply

Come on ... I know you wanna say something. Go for it.

VOTY Reader