Midlife Swill

This week was hard. This week I was numb and my brain flat-lined whenever I tried to write. This week I didn’t celebrate when I realized we were nearing the half way mark. This week I didn’t break down filling out the Kindergarten paperwork, not even when I imagined the one and only never to happen again first day of school without Husband. I didn’t even get excited preparing for the big deposition. In fact, I didn’t get mad when my proprietary work was swept right out from underneath me. I just didn’t feel much at all. I sat there, and I took it in, and it was just happening to me. Life was happening to me. I wasn’t happening to it.

A year is a long time to be away from your husband.

Twelve years is a long time to be a lawyer.

Forty years is a long time to be around.

Okay, I get that none of it is forever.

But damn, I hate cliches.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sugah
    Mar 04, 2011 @ 10:17:33

    Sometimes “still” is good. Just sitting with what is going on around you.

    It’s good at times to simply “be.” You are nearly always “doing.”

    Your body knows what you need. This week it needed to take in some things. It is processing info. It will pass. Inside you need a break. Take it. You may be surprised by what comes of it.

    Love you so.

    Reply

  2. DogBoy
    Mar 03, 2011 @ 17:30:54

    Damn it LV! Get up and happen! Do what you know is good for your body and soul. Be better than what is happening to you. Get up when you don’t want to. You F’n rock sister so F’n rock it!

    Reply

  3. Amy
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 21:39:44

    Grrrrr.😦

    Reply

    • wittylittlesecret
      Mar 02, 2011 @ 22:00:20

      Yikes, Amy. This post reminds me a little bit of your teenage angst diary posts from this week! Oh, the drama … so I’m actually laughing within ten minutes of writing that post. Whew. Perspective, there you are. I’ve always said writing is the cheapest therapy around.

      Reply

Come on ... I know you wanna say something. Go for it.

VOTY Reader