Guinea in the Manger

Yesterday’s launch of Lens of Hope was exhilarating, to say the least. It was also a massive time suck that had me glued to my computer when the blog post went viral thanks to a few key plugs on Facebook. I was lucky enough to be home instead of at work yesterday due to a couple of feverish kids. So for hours I sent out emails, responded to volunteer responses, attempted to translate some tax-exempt paperwork, and answered questions that came in to the website. I finally extricated myself from the keyboard and entered the kitchen to clean up a little before the kids woke from their naps.

And that’s when I saw it: A guinea pig wrapped in swaddling clothes, lying in a manger:

funny nativity

The Little Buddy Jesus

I’m not exactly sure why the baby Jesus had been replaced by “Buddy” and frankly, I was a little afraid to ask. I was a lot afraid to ask. It reminded me a little of the year The Preschooler watched “The Animated Easter Passion” followed closely by a cartoon episode of The Transformers, and thought the Decepticons killed Jesus on the cross. I’m also unsure how long Buddy Jesus had been hanging out in the crèche, which is even scarier.  The kids were taking turns holding their pig rodents earlier in the day, and I was hoping and praying that the Buddster had not been impersonating the Lord in our mini nativity for the last four hours while they rested upstairs.

Apparently, I need to reiterate the Rodent Rules. Either that, or we’ve got one smart guinea on our hands. Maybe, just maybe, Buddy found his own way there. Perhaps Buddy has a little … God complex? I’m watching you, Buddy. I’ve got my eye on you man. Er, I mean, pig.

Merry Christmas to rodents everywhere!

Have a great Friday, and be sure to check in Monday for the conclusion of Sweet Pea’s Earring Plea and her Daddy’s pained Skype response.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Search Term Madness « www.wittylittlesecret.com
  2. snapdragon
    May 07, 2011 @ 22:25:38

    I have that same Nativity Scene!
    Walter Drake- right? No, wait- maybe Lillian Vernon…
    Whatever. Some catalog.
    (The mind is the first thing to go…)

    Reply

    • wittylittlesecret
      May 08, 2011 @ 01:29:51

      Fortunately/Unfortunately for me, it was a gift. Maybe we will just call it Buddy’s nativity scene and leave it at that. No other baby Jesus in the future could ever truly do it justice. Either way … I can see you kept reading.🙂 Thank you.

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Hitting the Wall « Witty Little Secret
  4. Kelly
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 08:55:55

    Hey – I recognize that nativity scene!

    Reply

  5. Leah
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 03:37:09

    This is so funny! Love the picture!
    Brynna has been asking for a Guinea pig ever since we were over! She hasn’t won that one yet!

    Reply

  6. Gail
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 23:49:48

    Your blogs are wonderful. You are a fabulous story-teller. Thank you for sharing and … the chuckles. Have a great day!😀

    Reply

Come on ... I know you wanna say something. Go for it.

VOTY Reader