Number Two, and I Don’t Mean Poo

Now that Mobilization Bucket List Item #1 is over and done, with relatively little residual scarring and limited emotional damage, we are on to #2.

I’ll admit, I’m making these up as I go along and I don’t know how many there will be, or how long they will take. But since I’m a list-maker it can’t hurt to just keep calling it a Bucket List, right?

So, we are on to #2.

Ninety days of fitness. Good food. Endorphins. Discipline. Me time.

In 2009 I took a look at my body and said, “someone has GOT to do something” and for some reason I finally decided it would be me. A friend once told me “people who want to be thin, are.” That sounds a little bit mean on some level, but it’s really true. Most truth sounds kinda mean when it’s about you. But it’s really just about priorities. It just wasn’t a priority for me, which meant it was OK with me, on some level, to be 40 lbs overweight for a while. It wasn’t good or bad. It was just a fact.

I can’t really explain how or why it was different from the previous ten times, but this time, it was. I had a high school reunion coming up (which believe me is motivation enough), but if I’m being honest it wasn’t really the reunion. I was just ready. I just wanted to be thin. And with great success I shed pounds and gained muscle and an appreciation for truly excellent (real) food and excellent (real) people.

Then I quit. I didn’t quit all the way. I just quit half way. And slowly, I’ve been moving backwards. I’ve been convincing myself, like an alcoholic, that I can go back any time; I can just go back and do it again. I’ve been telling myself that I’ve just been too busy. There have been people to care for around here – dying people, sick people, little people. And they all need me.

Sheesh. What a lot of work I’ve created for myself. But there again, it can’t be good or bad. It just is.

Well, I am in list-making mode, and I’m sick of this, so it’s time. It’s time to start the next round of getting my body backAgain, dammit. This will put me in tip-top fighting shape by Valentine’s Day. I’m not sure what Valentine’s Day will hold for me this year, but I can tell you this: I will be rewarding myself with Bucket List Item #3:

to do list

I had to write “really” because I’m scared. That was my version of reassuring myself. Remember, I have that book, “Write It Down, Make it Happen” which is still sitting on my nightstand.

I realize this is really a stupid idiotic thing to do when your husband is out in the desert somewhere and you have two little kids at home. But I’ve decided not to live out of fear, and this is going to be my way of proving it to myself.

So, there it is.

Maybe I should come up with a #4 so that it doesn’t look like I’m planning to die. I mean, that’s not the end of the list. Maybe it will be something wonderful like “clean out the pantry” just to reiterate that something does in fact come after skydiving. But COME ON, let’s face it – there really isn’t much of anything that comes after skydiving except maybe “run for President” or “buy an island.” And anyway, don’t both of those seem awfully expensive? I guess maybe there’s “accept Pulitzer Prize” and “find a cure for cancer.” Those options are marginally cheaper, afterall. But no, no. I like “clean out the pantry.”

And anyway, you haven’t seen my pantry.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Hiatus « Witty Little Secret
  2. Trackback: My New Year’s Revolution « Witty Little Secret
  3. Trackback: Phase Four: Optimistic Oblivion « Witty Little Secret
  4. pasngasman
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 10:11:57

    yes, i’ve seen your pantry. a cure for cancer may be a less lofty goal!😉

    Reply

  5. berettaluvz26
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 09:08:21

    I went skydiving the day before my 25th birthday last year and it was amazing. Absolutely amazing. Granted, it was a tandem skydive so I didn’t get the full effect, but I still jumped from a freaking AIRPLANE, and I had never even flown before that day.

    So yeah. Do it. And make sure you get pictures and videos if they’re offered.

    Reply

  6. DogBoy
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 06:26:23

    How about “give someone a 100% tip”? I don’t mean “buy low, sell high” kinda tip. I mean give someone 10$ on a 10$ lunch. It’s almost nothing to you and everything to them.

    Reply

  7. Courtney Harold
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 05:57:48

    I did the fake skydiving yesterday – it was AWESOME and WAY easier! make #4 going to the great wall with me so we can write our script!

    Reply

  8. auntbethany
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 03:44:08

    Oh, pantries can be intimidating. For me, cleaning out the bathroom is an idea that gives me the heebie jeebies. This sounds like a wonderful idea. What are you doing these things in preparation for? Or is this just to try all of the things you’ve always wanted to do? Great post!

    Reply

    • wittylittlesecret
      Nov 22, 2010 @ 11:46:16

      Well, I’m just trying to make Husband’s absence a little more challenging. Because, you know, being a daughter-mom-fulltime lawyer-nonprofit starter upper just isn’t enough. Meh.

      Reply

Come on ... I know you wanna say something. Go for it.

VOTY Reader