Santa Clause, The Ice Cream Man, and The Hookah

Working in a prosecuting attorney’s office changes the way I see certain activities.  I don’t patronize pawn shops. I leer at all Santa Clauses and track their nice white gloves with skeptical disdain. I don’t go into certain mini-marts after midnight. I walk down the street with my kids to get ice cream from the mobile purveyor of frozeny-goodness, so that the creep behind the wheel doesn’t know where we live. And I don’t ever, ever, EVER go into “glass shops.”

Until now.

I hope you enjoy reading about my foray into the world of hookah. I originally wrote this piece for SpouseBUZZ, the military.com site where I write from time to time, because I thought it would get the best exposure to my intended military spouse audience. However after reading it again, I can see that it will resonate with anyone who has ever tried too hard to find a way to bridge the gap between two people.

spousebuzz

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenni Segura
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 18:29:48

    Been going through integration, (AGAIN), since May. This time around has been rough. We’re at a phase where we really don’t like each other, and sometimes desperately trying to find that “hookah”, to find our way back. I very well know what you mean about the space, only my hubby was dumbfounded that I was the one who created more space first. We’re in counseling, have a long road to go, but we’ll get there. Thank you so much for sharing, and your writing is brilliant. I always look forward to when you put something out. ;-)

    Reply

    • Lori Volkman @ Witty Little Secret
      Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:46:19

      Jenni,
      I wish more spouses would let us know, ahead of time, that this is not the easy road it’s made out to be. And that it takes A LOT of time. And that it’s even harder if it’s interrupted by a new deployment. As we approach the one year mark, and as Husband is gone about 15-20 days out of each 30 day period, I’m betting we might hit our groove around the two year mark. No joke. And since he just signed a 4 year commitment …. there’s no telling where we’re headed. Hang in there. Glad you’re in counseling. Just keep at it!

      Reply

  2. John Erickson
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 13:47:09

    It’s amazing the crazy little things that can bring two people back together. For us, when I pop off from frustration (an unfortunately frequent event), it’s a Snuffle bear – a football-like teddy bear- that we’ll sit between us on the couch. it’s weird, but it works. Yeah, I realise my struggles are infinitesimally smaller than what you have had to face (and still do). I’m glad you found that tie, and that you wrote this wonderful post about it.
    I’ll hapilly second the kudos. :)

    Reply

  3. Al
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 08:22:21

    I’ll deny it if you say anything, but that brought tears to my eyes. You are some kinda writer, Lori, as if we didn’t know that already.

    Reply

    • Lori Volkman @ Witty Little Secret
      Aug 27, 2012 @ 08:29:26

      You know, someone on Twitter just wrote the same thing and that just shocks me … always interesting to me what brings tears. I guess some things, some feelings, resonate more than others. Anything touching on loneliness seems to be a big one. Thanks my friend ~ that means a lot to me.

      Reply

Come on ... I know you wanna say something. Go for it.

VOTY Reader