The Blog Apple

image

Today I arrived in NYC for the annual BlogHer conference where I’ll be reading a post as an honored “Voice of the Year.” I’m really scared wittless but also honored to tell my story and can’t wait!

Even more so, I can’t wait to tell you about the first two women I met here – a cabbie who was thinking of starting a blog but didn’t know how, and an Army wife from Washington State (pretty near to me, actually) whose husband is deployed to Afghanistan.

Guess I had to come all the way to New York to meet her!

Well it looks like my room is ready so I’d better go … wish me luck!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lori Volkman @ Witty Little Secret
    Aug 06, 2012 @ 22:39:52

    Thanks for the well-wishes, everyone. It was an amazing experience and I was proud to be a voice for military spouses and connect to the non-military community in a way I really never have – in my own voice instead of through a reporter. The good news is that BlogHer is compiling a book of the winning entries, so I’ll be published in that anthology, and the story will hopefully reach so many more.

    Reply

  2. Beth
    Aug 06, 2012 @ 17:28:28

    I trust you did very well, as a matter of fact I am sure you did well!
    I am anxious to hear about the whole trip. Love you.

    Reply

  3. philosophermouseofthehedge
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 14:35:15

    Have fun! (and smile – everyone likes that!)

    Reply

  4. John Erickson
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 11:42:53

    Go knock ‘em dead – you don’t need luck! (But, um, well, good luck anyway. ;) )
    Would it be just TOO hackneyed and predictable to ask if you’ll get past the Intrepid during your trip? :D

    Reply

  5. Mel
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 11:38:33

    Such an exciting experience (and an honor!) Can’t wait to hear how it goes!

    Reply

  6. Jo Falkner
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 09:39:11

    We know you will do great. Very proud of you and what you are doing for other spouses. Keep in touch. Love you!

    Reply

Come on ... I know you wanna say something. Go for it.

VOTY Reader